What's new
What's new

First Bridgeport need info and opinions to get it up and running

OldBlue56

Plastic
Hello everyone,

I've been searching around and researching on the site for a while now, but this will be my first post. I recently acquired what I believe is a 1984 Bridgeport (going off serial #'s) with the SWI PROTO TRAK MX2 CNC setup on it. I just happened across this at a local online auction and ended up winning it. I have no real experience with machining other than my self taught research and trials and errors with my PM-25MV and my 1966 13" South Bend lathe I just finished restoring.

My first order of business is going to be figuring out how to power this thing. I did plug in the MX2, since it is 115v, and was able to verify it does work. I was able to jog the table on both the "X" and "Y" axis. Now to my question, obviously I will need a VFD or some type of converter to run off of my single phase 220v I have available in the garage. The mill motor is obviously 3phase. Since this is a variable speed head and the CNC is powered from the setup on the mill itself, it seems my best option would be to simply feed power to it from a VFD and not use any of the fancy features available on many of the VFD's. I assume this is the best method because the VFD will also be powering the CNC portion therefore I can't be controlling the motor or anything from the VFD without affecting power to the CNC correct? This being the case do I still really need to go with the more expensive VFD modules or can I get away with a more basic one since I have no use for the fancy features?