What's new
What's new

Milltronics vm17 software estop

Tgran

Plastic
Hello
I have a vm17 with centurion 6 controls. The problem I’m having is the machine is stuck in software estop mode. The readout shows that the z axis is minus when the z axis is all the way up. It should read plus when the axis is up. Also the big vfd says external fault. I thought the encoder was bad so I replaced the z axis motor and encoder with new but still says minus when it’s up. I raised the the z axis all the way up and now all I get is the software estop and the machine won’t let me lower the z axis all or any axis actually. I tried holding the reset button while trying to lower the z axis but nothing works. The machine did crash while drilling a hole. Not a horrible crash but hard enough to break the drill bit. Could that have caused mt problem in the first place? I’m far from an expert on this so any help someone could give me would be greatly appreciated. Is there a way to reset the software? I think I’m against the limit switches since I raised the z axis up but now can’t get it to move down off the switch. Is there a way to change the z axis from minus to plus since it’s stuck all the way up now? Thanks in advance for any help you could give meView attachment 431850View attachment 431851

been a minute since I ran one, but try to shut the machine down and kill the power(breaker) to the machine see if the drive still faults.
on the home screen you can hit 'home here'
holding the reset down while jogging also.
when this type of thing happens, and holding reset while jogging doesnt work, we have hand spun the XY screw to get it off the switch.
Z has a break so you cant hand spin it off.
sorry I couldn't be more help, its been 6 years since running Milltronics. :cheers:

Also for tech level params and controls.
From the Main Menu press F7-Parms, F1-Setup, F1-Level
When it asks for Validation Code type PROTO3 enter
then hit 3

Last edited: