What's new
What's new

Questions about very old magnetic drill Black and Decker

4gvn62yg

Plastic
Hello.
I am from Europe and I recently bought this old magnetic drill, because it was cheap. There is no text left on it, but I have identified it as Black and Decker 741 or 1554. So, 50 years old american drill on 220 volts. It works, did not test only second speed. I started to disassemble it slowly, to clean it and see what has to be repaired. I found the manual, but it does not help me. I am new to these things, so I wanted to ask some questions.
  1. Do I need to worry about the welded top part of the chuck?
  2. What kind of grease to put inside the gearbox? Have not opened it yet.
  3. Can the magnet be disassembled? I do not find how. Maybe this scratched thing on the bottom can be removed?
  4. Magnet is on 220 volts DC? Or maybe the motor too? Bulbs seem to be 125 volts.
  5. Is there point to me replacing this old wiring now with something more modern, in case it fails and I cannot find the components? Not sure if I can even find anything now...
  6. The motor was slowly moving down alone, when it was mounted on the column. This can probably be fixed. I see 2 big and 2 small bolts on the back, where it mounts. The small bolts I think would tighten it more to the column. The big bolts I do not know. The hole of one of them continues on the inner side of the mounting, but the other bolt does not have this.
  7. Does someone have parts diagram?

Hello.
I am from Europe and I recently bought this old magnetic drill, because it was cheap. There is no text left on it, but I have identified it as Black and Decker 741 or 1554. So, 50 years old american drill on 220 volts. It works, did not test only second speed. I started to disassemble it slowly, to clean it and see what has to be repaired. I found the manual, but it does not help me. I am new to these things, so I wanted to ask some questions.