What's new
What's new

Tooling advice deep pocket

tcncj

Cast Iron
Need some tooling advice

Need to make some series of parts which have some deeper pockets (110mm)
I can finish the inside with a 20mm ballnose. That's not an issue.

But what's the best way to rough it out?
Material: Aluminium

Should I get a 16mm or 20mm round insert cutter? I've never used those before. I already have a carbide shank for a cutter body with thread.
I don't want to semi finish it after roughing it out. So a cutter with big radius has my preference.
A 16mm long length endmill with 4mm radius would work. But these are quite expensive compared to a insert cutter.

dTgZ7bC.png

I don't want to sound rude, but why not talk to your tooling guy. He might give you a great starting point, or better yet an immediate solution.

Good luck,
D

Deep pockets are a good application for plunge roughing. Basically drilling with the endmill, with some overlap of the row of holes.

Obviously, tool needs to be capable of straight z plunge.

Sent from my Pixel 4a using Tapatalk

I'd drill a hole and then plunge rough it with a long high feed mill. But I don't work with much aluminum so I have a lot of high feed tooling which works very well for plunge roughing since it's designed to cut on the face of the tool and long lengths are common.

Should I get a 16mm or 20mm round insert cutter? I've never used those before. I already have a carbide shank for a cutter body with thread.
I don't want to semi finish it after roughing it out. So a cutter with big radius has my preference.
A 16mm long length endmill with 4mm radius would work. But these are quite expensive compared to a insert cutter.

If the walls that appear to be 90 degrees to the floor truly are then the round inserts will be slow. Being that you can only step down half the diameter on the inserts. That is if your machine can handle the cuts that deep.