What's new
What's new

Advice Picking cutoff blade for my BXA7 holder

jerholz

Cast Iron
The original HSS blade that came with the holder I bought 30 years ago is finally getting close to being too short to be re-ground, so I started looking for a new one. If I buy the P-3 1/8" blade from Aloris, It's $30, plus $6 handling plus $18 shipping. The other option is to go to a carbide insert blade (SGIH 26-4C-B7) and a pack of inserts for in the neighborhood of $230 all up from Aloris.

So, the questions I have are:
- Are the carbide inserts going to be a big improvement over HSS?
- If so, any advice on which inserts to buy (there are many)
- Any recommendations on places to buy them other than direct from Aloris or other brands I should consider that are compatible with the BXA7 holder?

I'm an amateur machinist at best. My lathe is a Hendey 12x30 gear head (top speed 1198 rpm). I mostly work with either aluminum or mild steel, occasionally stainless steel. Parting off is always tricky, so I'm not opposed to spending some money to improve my odds of success. I switched to carbide insert turning tools some time ago and I really like those.

Thanks in advance.

I have both the Aloris BXA7 with HSS blade and a SGIH 26 insert in an Iscar blade. (I also have a 32mm bigger brother of the Iscar.)

Basically, I don't use the steel blade much any more. This on a Clausing 5914, which has a L00 spindle, so no unscrewed chucks chasing me around the shop.

The Iscar blade is in a Dorian BXA holder which is configured to be used upside down, and I do cutting off with the lathe running in reverse. This very much stabilizes parting off - no self-feeding leading to disaster.

Your machine might be a little slow and light for carbide on the parting tool.

I have an iscar do grip that I really like to use over .175" diameters. They chip below .175" due to lack of SFM.