What's new
What's new

Designing a horizontal bandsaw from the ground up

Halcyon

Aluminum
Alright, so some background.
1. I like to make accurate miter cuts, often.
3. I have a lot of free time.
4. I'm not an engineer, I just played with legos a lot. Don't trust anything I say.
5. If this seems incomplete, it's because it is! This is a work in progress and will change often.

I decided to undertake the challenge of designing a horizontal dual mitering bandsaw that can be built from a single sheet of 1/4" plate, IKEA style. Doable? Ehh. Fun to try? Ehhhhh.

Firstly I needed to establish the constraints of the project.
1. Should be predominantly laser/waterjet cut plate components. Minimal manual fabrication, just MIG welding/assembly.
2. Should use no specialty components. Only readily attainable Ebay, McMaster, whatever. No castings. No machined parts(yes I realize the irony).
3. Adaptable to a variety of different parts. Motors, bearings,etc. Will be relying heavily on SLOTS and PILLOW BLOCKS. No press-fits here.
4. Be relatively easy to assemble for a novice fabricator. Be adjustable to account for tolerance errors.
5. Have a cut capacity of +/-60 degrees or better.

I started with research and studying existing designs. Dry vs wet. Crowned vs flat pulleys. Desired feature sets. I settle on some constraints and get to work.

I start with a basic sketch and establish some base parameters. I intially started with larger wheels, but decided against it. The larger the wheel, the more material and gear reduction is needed.

1676795811864.png
1676795915559.png

I model some stuff and do some (probably ill-advised) Salvador Dali stress simulations.
1676796040495.png1676797300643.png

I widdle away at material and continue to run stress analyses. Eventually I scrap the whole thing and begin anew because I have some qualms about how it's progessing. I size the 14 inch pulleys down to 12 inch to save on material and gear reduction needs. The cut envelope is still insane.