What's new
What's new

How do I make a usb work in a "floppy emulator" floppy drive to usb conversion?

comp 670

Aluminum
How do I make a usb work in a "floppy emulator" floppy drive to usb conversion?

Hi, I bought a 2001 Haas VF3 that has a GOTEK "floppy emulator" ( I think that's what it is called) to replace the floppy drive so it can use a USB stick to load programs in the machine. I have a program to run but it wont load. Doing some research it looks like the USB stick must be "formatted" to look like a floppy disk to the machine? Then there are two buttons and a 0 to 99 readout on the emulator that you pick what program number you want to load?

I am NOT good at all with computer stuff, I've tried online to format the usb but I'm getting no where.

If anybody could walk me through how to format the usb then load a program that would be awesome..

I use cheap, small thumb drives like this: Amazon.com: [NOT 256GB ] Enfain Bulk Small Capacity 256mb Flash Drive 1 Pack Black: Computers & Accessories as you don't gain anything from 1Gb+ drives. You'll need the 1.44 floppy emulator formatting software, I use this: http://www.ipcas.com/support/usb-floppy-emulation-download.html Download the first file (V1.40i) to your computer.

At that point, I'd suggest having someone on hand who's more comfortable with computers to help with the USB converting, but you can try it on your own if you have patience and don't throw things when frustrated (as I'm about to do with my malfunctioning mouse).

From a reality standpoint, I never use the extra folders for program storage, just the first one. It's easy to lose track of what's on the thumb drive, so I keep it simple.