What's new
What's new

Mazak QTN 200 MS turret re alignment

Timbodidg

Plastic
G'day
The Turret on my 2004 Mazak QTN 200 MS was not drilling cross holes (using live tools set for drilling on the OD) on center and after checking the x axis with a dial indicator it appears that the Turret needs to be rotated slightly to realign it. I removed the numbered plate and loosened all bolts in the ring of inner and outer allen head bolts in the attached photo (Red arrows indicate one hole in the inner and outer ring). I then removed two opposing stick tools and slipped a piece of 25 mm square bar into the positions where the stick tools were. The bar is about 4 meters long but I used the first meter (as I don't want to break anything just yet). The turret did not rotate so I thought better check I am not missing anything before I try harder. Does anyone know if there is anything else I need to loosen or remove before the turret will rotate so I can realign it? I am new to cnc machining so I may be missing the obvious. Any advice would be appreciated.

Attachments

• Turret bolts 1.jpg
    Turret bolts 1.jpg
    102.6 KB · Views: 16
You did not say how far out it was. First thing I would check is if the machine is level, or more importantly, not twisted.
Is there any adjustment in the driven tool?
I can tell you that when a Mazak tech had to get my turret re aligned (after a crash) we used an 8' 4x4 and he did the heavy lifting. Stout guy and a bit red faced as I tightened the bolts.

G'day Scruffy
Thanks for your reply. It looks to be out approximately 0.15 -0.2 mm (0.0059 - 0.0078 inches) over a distance of approximately 100 mm (3.9 inches) When I slide the x axis back and forth. I have checked a few tool positions and used different surfaces of the turret and tool holders and I think they all gave a similar reading. I will check to make sure the lathe is not twisted as you suggested to rule that out. Thanks again for you time