What's new
What's new

Moving a hardinge HLV through a ground level window

max.levesque

Aluminum
Just got an HLV, and all that I'm missing is a garage (... home shop hobby machinist here) !

But I have a basement with a floor level window that has enough height to take the HLV *without the cabinet*.

I'm studying the possibility of removing the chip pan while keeping the bedway, head stock, etc, on it, so it can enter by the window.

Keeping the lathe components in the chip pan seems like a big win, as it is quite sturdy, can be hoisted, etc.

Any info, cautions, etc would be appreciated.

Note: it's a 1956 HLV, not an HLV-H

Just got an HLV, and all that I'm missing is a garage (... home shop hobby machinist here) !

But I have a basement with a floor level window that has enough height to take the HLV *without the cabinet*.

I'm studying the possibility of removing the chip pan while keeping the bedway, head stock, etc, on it, so it can enter by the window.

Keeping the lathe components in the chip pan seems like a big win, as it is quite sturdy, can be hoisted, etc.

You can pull the bed and move the bed and cabinet separate.

I would build a basic skid/pallet that allows you to handle the bed and protects it, you can do without it, but wood is cheap and extra handle areas are a big plus on move like this. How bad is the stair access?

There is nothing that attaches the lathe bed to the chip tray, and the chip tray is pretty heavy. If it were mine I would likely move the three pieces separately.

My chip tray happens to be in my bathroom close to my scale, I might have time to weigh it later… 😁

I would remove the head and cart that downstairs. Then the same for the tail stock. Take as much off as possible.

In my woodworkers group there was a guy who offered to have monthly meetings at his place.
His house was already two story. The construction crew jacked up the house 2 - 3 feet and excavated whatever feet down.