What's new
What's new

Pratt and Whitney

Totcha313

Plastic
Hi,
I’m new to this forum so hopefully I’m posting in the right place. I’m looking for any information someone may have on a Pratt and Whitney lathe. I believe it is dated around 1920. It is a 10 inch lathe. Any info would be greatly appreciated by me.
Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_3674.png
    IMG_3674.png
    7.5 MB · Views: 74
  • IMG_3141.jpeg
    IMG_3141.jpeg
    2.5 MB · Views: 72
  • IMG_3140.jpeg
    IMG_3140.jpeg
    2.8 MB · Views: 58
  • IMG_3138.jpeg
    IMG_3138.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 56
  • IMG_3137.jpeg
    IMG_3137.jpeg
    2 MB · Views: 72
Chemical Operator. Been there for 43 years. I don’t know anything about lathes but am fairly mechanically inclined.

What was you profession?
I was a machinist , best place I worked was Rockwell's Santa Susana operation . After that I started a machine shop (85') folded it in 2010' and retired .
As for the restoration on your machine , sounds like you are going to have fun . Is the machine in place and running ?

I was a machinist , best place I worked was Rockwell's Santa Susana operation . After that I started a machine shop (85') folded it in 2010' and retired .
As for the restoration on your machine , sounds like you are going to have fun . Is the machine in place and running ?
No sir. I really wanted to run it but decided to restore it first. I would love hearing anything in regards to the restoration. Guessing my first question is whether or not any bearings will be difficult to find.
A little background on the lathe was it was located up by the Great Lakes in Ohio. A farmer owned it. Everything seems exceptionally tight. Appears to me that it hasn’t had all that much use.

No sir. I really wanted to run it but decided to restore it first. I would love hearing anything in regards to the restoration. Guessing my first question is whether or not any bearings will be difficult to find.