What's new
What's new

Robodrill 4th Axis Amplifier Alarm

Fabracobbler

Plastic
Hi all, long time lurker but finally posting as I've got an issue I just can't get past.

I recently purchased a used Fanuc Robodrill a-T14iBL. This replaced an old Bridgeport clone CNC retrofit that I've been tinkering on for the last 10 years. I make parts in my garage as a past time and was ready to step up to an industrial grade machine. Finally have ATC, WooHoo! The Robodrill was optioned with a 4th axis and previous owner once had a rotary installed. It did not come with the 4th when I got it. The servo amp and wiring harness were also missing. The options parameters are turned on and the ladder has the relevant rungs for the clamp(brake) and index. I had a 4th on my old mill and can't imagine working without one now. So...

I purchased a used Kitagawa MR320. I know, big for the Robodrill but was too good a deal to pass up. I also purchased a servo amp, all interconnect cables and the 4th axis wiring harnesses (motor and encoder). I got these all installed easy enough. Double checked the wiring pinout diagramed in the manuals. Everything looked good. I then followed the "additional axis" install guide in the Robodrill manual. The exact motor in the Kitagawa wasn't a listed option as it is much newer than the Robodrill. I selected a similar sized motor and did the other required parameter mods listed in the manual then the obligatory power down. I am now getting alarm #'s 478 - A Axis illegal axis data(MNT) and 496 - A Axis illegal axis data(CNC). Manual says this is normal after modifying servo amplifier configuration and to set bit 4 of parameter 2212 to a 1 and then back to 0 and do a full power down reset. Well, I've done that, multiple times, and it just keeps coming back.