What's new
What's new

Things to look out for and avoid when buying a used wire EDM

manta

Plastic
I looking to expand the capabilities of my shop by adding a wire EDM.
I don't have enough need for one to buy new but there's been a few times I've had to sub it out and I'm sure if I had one I'd find more use for one.
I've been looking at late 90's early 2000's machines, I have very little experience on a newer Fanuc wire EDM but that's it.

I'd like to gather and learn from others experience and knowledge and maybe even something others can use later as a sort of buyers guide.
so whats some things to watch out for, and some brands and models that I should watch out for good and bad.

some basic features I'm looking for in a machine are, auto wire threading, edge finding with the wire like being able to touch off in a hole to find center.
so far I've found a 1998 Sodick A325 and a few Fanucs of the same year and older

Thanks for your time
Chris

Things to look out for when buying a wire EDM.

1. It’s second hand and really old.

Lots of very expensive electronics to go wrong with no warranty. Read Marcus input regarding 2nd hand wire EDM’s.

Everything is expensive, that's the way it is. Don't let people deter you from buying a used machine. I have a shop full of them.
Do your homework. Make a call to the manufacturer and ask if the machine is still supported, and if there is a maintenance fee to receive support and/or parts.

You're looking at machinery 30 years old, be smart. You should be fairly handy to tackle/troubleshoot repairs. Otherwise, you may be in over your head.

Good luck!

That 1998 Sodick will have a 1990s NEC PC that is not IBM PC compatible. i.e. you need to find a bespoke floppy drive for one of their machines, or a floppy emulator. With any luck the PC died years ago and the company spent the $2k+ for a retrofit old-at-the-time 486 or 586 replacement.