What's new
What's new

Cross slide screw

MainelyIan

Plastic
So I have been working on disassembly of a lathe I purchased a few months ago. I have not used it other than to turn a few bits of metal into smaller bits of metal. I am new to lathes and machining as a whole other than a Seig X2 mini mill that I have converted to CNC using 3d printed parts and am slowly machining the parts in aluminum to replace the 3d printed parts.
While trying to take apart the cross slide screw I was unable to remove the bushing that screws into the cross slide. I put the small nut back on (to protect the threads). And tapped with a hammer. The nut was not on far enough and I damaged the threads on the screw and in the nut.
So my question is. What is the best way to fix this,

1 weld on additional material and machine down and rethread.
2 Cut off threaded part, drill and tap and add a thread (bolt)
3 Cut off threaded part, drill a hole add a peice of metal and thread the new peice.

As I said above very new to machining (especially on a lathe). Any advice would be appreciated. The last option was to get a new screw but I am unable to find one (small dial no taper attachment).

Attachments

• 20240407_153442.jpg
    20240407_153442.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 37
  • 20240407_153437.jpg
    20240407_153437.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 37
I would cut the screw off the end, drill and tap a hole with the same threads as original.
Screw a set screw in until it bottoms out. Trim the inside end until the stickout is same as original.
Goop up the thread with the highest strength Loctite and run the set screw in tight. Let loctite cure.
Go back to work.

I fixed one:
Cut off the threaded part
Drill and tap for 8-32
Make a custom washer headed screw from an oval head socket head cap screw.