What's new
What's new

Early Hendey 18X8 serial number info help

Gruncle

Plastic
This is my first attempt at posting. Please bear with me.
I picked up an old Hendey 18 X 8 lathe a couple of years ago for $150.00 at an estate sale. It’s been sitting under my carport until last week. I was finally able to get a barn built this year. I moved it in the barn and cleaned it up a little bit. I didn’t know what make or model the lathe was. The only brass plate on it was the patent number plate on the apron. I did a little research on the patent numbers and figured out it was a Hendey. It has 18” cast in the spindle housing.
I scraped, cleaned, and scrubbed the area with a wire brush where the serial number was supposed to be, but would have sworn there wasn’t a number there. I squirted some carburetor cleaner on it to clean any oil off and caught a little glimpse of what looked like a number. I put some Evaporust gel on the area and let it set for a bit. The serial number is faint, but it’s there.
The number is 4229. Could anyone help me with the date of manufacture from this? Any help would be appreciated. Maybe Hendeyman, if he is still active.
The gears under the selector switch on the gear box are seized up. I can’t get the clutch lever to move. The clutch gears are free. The gear box gears rotate along with the lead screw, if the gear selector lever is in the down position. The spindle rotates. The cross feed and compound move. The tail stock spindle(?) has been ran all the way out and I can’t get the screw to re-engage. The tail stock wheel turns freely.
It came with a steady rest, but is missing the taper attachment.
The gears seem to have all their teeth.
Looking forward to getting this going after reading all the positive posts about them.

Attachments

• IMG_2649.jpeg
    IMG_2649.jpeg
    1.6 MB · Views: 24
  • IMG_2552.jpeg
    IMG_2552.jpeg
    2.5 MB · Views: 26
  • IMG_2555.jpeg
    IMG_2555.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 27
  • IMG_2554.jpeg
    IMG_2554.jpeg