What's new
What's new

Lathe recommendations for tool steel with live tools

thunderskunk

Cast Iron
Mornin,

We’re looking for a lathe:
  • Typical parts are .375-2.0” OD 1045 tool steel. It has a front post with a .0005” OD tolerance for a shrink fit and flats along it’s 8” length. Machined before heat treat. Very simple geometry.
  • Barfed up to 2” OD, say it’s a 12’ barfeeder
  • Live tooling for cutting flats (not polygon cutting, something like a shell mill. Not complex, but needs a good finish)
  • Ideally has a subspindle, but probably could do without.
The Doosan/DN Puma comes to mind. New: It’s priced the same as it’s Haas equivalent, and we’re not interested in Haas. We have Hardinges, but older vintages without live tooling.

Given it’s not super complicated geometry, we could probably get away with a used unit. I see quite a few Mori Seiki machines out there, though I have no experience with them. Any thoughts?

Mori NLX. Bullet proof solid. If you buy new, it will still be cranking those parts out way into the future. We have Haas, Mazak and Mori. Mori is by far the best of the three.

I have ran face mills in my Hardinge's, but if that is wehat you plan to doo routinely, my first thought is to go with a Mori with the motor in the turret, rather than a long geartrain for the lives to deal with the interrupted cuts.

-------------------

Think Snow Eh!
Ox

If you want to stick with Hardinge you could contact terry iverson at Iverson Co and he could sell you a used hardinge turnkey ready to go. He fixes them up and resells used machines. They were a Dealer for Hardinge until Hardinge went the Gosiger route. The Hardinge T51 and Quest 8/51 would get you to 2" bar capacity. Other machines to look at would be Nakamura Tome, Miyano, and Okuma.