What's new
What's new

Fanuc Controller + FOCAS + PC = real-time data transfer?

shubh

Plastic
Hi,

I have gained interest in reading and understanding about Fanuc Controllers and CNC machines. I am interested to know if it is possible to:
1. Connect a CNC machine with Fanuc Controller (0i-TF Plus), having USB and Ethernet Slot (and possibility to activate FOCAS) to a PC or a Raspberry Pi
2. Transfer real time data from Controller to PC/Raspberry Pi (eg: part count, cycle rate, idle time or any other data it is already recording)

If yes, please walk me down with what all tools, software and hardware I require. As per my research, theoretically, no hardware is required (I am just a beginner, so feel free to correct me) - we only need to establish connection between Controller and PC/Ra Pi using FOCAS and/or FTP (correction needed) and then write a code to transfer data from Controller to PC/Ra Pi (validation needed).

Can somebody experienced guide me and validate my thought process? Is it possible to do this with Ethernet+FOCAS+PC/Pi or additional hardware is required? Is there any other way of doing this?

Thank you,
Shubham

For NC Code I/O, the USB or PC card by themselves will work and that's how most people do it.
The Ethernet is nice if you want to access a server somewhere, but not necessary.

Hey Douglas, thanks for your reply.
I want to make the Controller data (part count, current program, idle time, etc) available remotely via a Dashboard/Website.
For this, what should I be doing? Simply plug an Ethernet from my Controller to PC?
Or I need to setup some connection, software or change other settings?
I will be really obliged if you could assist.