What's new
What's new

Vactra 2 waylube substitution

i_r_machinist

Titanium
I'm out of Vactra 2 way lube. I know I'll get slapped around for this, but is there an equivalent substitution that I could buy from TSC. I have no problem paying $20 a gallon (after shipping) for Vactra. BUT, I live in a rural area and would like to play with this mill this weekend.
Thanks
i_r_machinist

I used to laugh at the very idea until I tried it. Stihl (I have no knowledge of others) Bar and Chain oil.

Has plenty of "tackifier" where modern Vactra 2/3/4 has none.

I mix Stihl B&C half and half with Vactra 4

John Oder

John,

I thought about mixing it, but didn't have any idea for the ratio. That would work good for my brush on oil. Even though my machines oil OK from inside, I have a brush in a coffee can that I use to apply lube.

Kerry,

I know one one shop where the owner mixes STP and oil for the way lube.

Don't know the ratio, though.:confused:

JAckal:cheers:

Outfit I used to work for mixed 1:1 ratio of 80/90 gear oil and Casite Motor Honey (may not be available now) for way lube. They did it for decades, no apparent ill effects.
I'll go put my flame suit on now:D.

I think the most important point concerning *using the mill this weekend* while you wait for the shipment from say Enco is that it really *does not matter* much what you use this weekend. Just use some gear oil or 30 weight or whatever. It won't do any damage to the ways if you just use SOMETHING.

For the long term, get your order in and the guy in the big brown truck will fix you up by early next week. Or mix your own brew and forget about ordering "official" way oil. If that is what John has been doing for years, given his experience, it would be hard to argue that point. I just buy the Vactra 2 when it is on sale and shipping is free.

My opinion, perhaps others will disagree.

Denis